Service: Library, Youth Olympics, Eisteddfod

In the words of Senior Guide, Vetty….

“For the Service component of the Queen’s Guide, I undertook regular service at the Penshurst Branch Library, and also volunteered at the Youth Olympics event and the Sutherland Shire Eisteddfod event. I felt all were lovely opportunities to help out people who I knew (my piano teacher and her husband ran the Eisteddfod annually, as a two man committee), people of my own age (celebrating the achievements of youth athletes at the Youth Olympics) and the wider community (serving the public at Penshurst Library). Over three months, I managed to do 37 hours and 25 minutes worth of service.

Volunteering at Penshurst Branch Library: (9 hrs 55mins)

I first started volunteering at Penshurst Branch Library in 2012, but continued it in 2013, from where my log starts for the Queen’s Guide. I am still volunteering in 2014 at the library. My work at the library consisted of a variety of tasks, including: shelving, shelf-tidying, disk cleaning, labelling and covering books, preparing craft activities, stock-taking, data logging and book deletions. I also had the opportunity to help organise some of the library archives (some dating back to 30+ years ago!) which was incredibly interesting.

Youth Olympics at Sydney Olympic Park: (11 hrs)

On the 18th and 19th of January 2013, I along with Sindy, another Ranger in my Unit went to help out at the Youth Olympics at Sydney Olympic Park – an official Olympic event but for youth athletes. As the 18th was a 46˚C day, we didn’t manage to help much, but on the 19th, we were able to help with the proceedings. We, along with a Guide and her mother from another Unit helped out by being the flag bearers and ceremony officials at the many medal ceremonies for each event. Sindy and I were both flag bearers, and our jobs were to hold the flags down and make sure they didn’t fly everywhere. I thoroughly enjoyed the days I helped out, even though I had a hiccup in the day (see challenges), and it was great to be able to celebrate the achievements of young athletes our own age who were amazing in the sports they competed in.

Sutherland Shire Eisteddfod at Oatley Uniting Church Hall: (16 hrs 30mins)

The Sutherland Shire Eisteddfod is a small piano eisteddfod which runs annually in the April holidays. I tend to compete every year, but as my piano teacher is the organiser of the event, I thought that this year (2013), I would also help out in the event, as the committee is quite small, and even then there are always many things that can be done to decrease the workload for everyone. I was put in charge of handling money in the front desk and collecting music for the competitors, and I made sure that the foyer was orderly and quiet so that the competitors inside the church hall would not be disturbed. I also assisted people with which section the eisteddfod was up to, and general running of the eisteddfod times.”

Please remember these are just some ideas… it doesn’t mean you have to do your Queens Guide like this.  What is a challenge to one girl is not necessarily a challenge to another girl!  

One thought on “Service: Library, Youth Olympics, Eisteddfod

Leave a comment